Resources for Speakers

Networking for Speakers

Get to know your fellow speakers. They can be one of your best resources.

Social Comedy Workshops - http://social.comedyworkshops.com

Toastmasters - http://www.toastmasters.org

National Speaker Association - http://www.nsaspeaker.org

Electronic Press Kit

Free site that let’s you create and send your EPK [Electronic Press Kit]

Speaker Demo - http://www.speakerdemo.com

Speaking Topics Currently in Demand

• Stress Reduction

• Healthcare

• Sales

• Presentation Skills

• Sports and Adventure

• Campus Issues - NACA

• Women's Issues

• Workplace Appropriateness

• Employee Retention

• Creativity Workshop

• Life Work Balance

• Stress Management

Websites with More Great Ideas for Speaking Topics

Need some more ideas for speaking topics? Here are some great websites with ideas galore.

Get to know your fellow speakers. They can be one of your best resources.

All Business Speakers & Topics - http://www.bigspeak.com/topics/all-business-topics.html

Speech Topics - http://www.speech-topics-help.com

Persuasive Speech Topics - http://www.speech-topics-help.com/common-persuasive-speech-topics.html

Topic Selection Helper - http://www.hawaii.edu/mauispeech/html/infotopichelp.html

Best Speech Topics - http://www.best-speech-topics.com

10 Tips for Public Speaking: Overcome Public Speaking Anxiety - https://custom-writing.org/blog/public-speaking-tips

Great Persuasive Speech Topics - http://www.suite101.com/content/great-persuasive-speech-topics-a12084

Great Informative Speech Topics - http://www.suite101.com/content/great-informative-speech-topics-a15040

Today's Talking Topics - http://www.eslgold.com/speaking/talking_topics.html

Resources to Build Your Own Website

You don't have to spend a lot of money for a website. Here are some links to with easy instructions on how to build your website.

Aplus Net - http://www.aplus.net/web-design/do-it-yourself

Create Your Own Website: The Beginner's A-Z Guide - http://www.thesitewizard.com/gettingstarted/startwebsite.shtml

How To Make Your Own Website For Free! - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5rCKdZDd60

How to Build a Website - http://webdesign.about.com/od/beforeyoustartawebsite/p/build_website.htm

Quickit - Create a Website - http://www.quackit.com/create-a-website

wikiHow - Make a Website - http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Website

eHow - Build a Website - http://www.ehow.com/topic_398_build-a-website.html

Wordpress.com (hosted for free by Wordpress) - http://wordpress.com

Wordpress.org (self-hosting - you hire a hosting company) - http://wordpress.org

WordPress Tutorial - http://wordpress.lexty.com (how to create your Wordpress site)

Once your website is up, you want people to find you on the web. Here are some tools to find those all-important keywords to place on your site, so that you will rank on the first page of Google.

Google Keyword Tool - https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal

Google Keyword Tool Help - https://adwords.google.com/support/aw/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=64886

Google Insights for Search - http://www.google.com/insights/search

Google - Hot Trends - http://www.google.com/trends/hottrends

Google Tools Quick Links - http://www.googlekeywordtool.com

Websites to Help You Put Together Your Speech

Need some pointers on putting together that speech, quickly? Here are some helpful links.

Overcoming Your Fear of Public Speaking - http://www.nextiva.com/voip/business-resources-overcoming-your-fear-of-public-speaking

Getting Started in Public Speaking - https://reviewsquirrel.com/resources/public-speaking/

Organize Your Speech - http://sixminutes.dlugan.com/toastmasters-speech-2-organize-your-speech

Preparing Speeches - http://www.hawaii.edu/mauispeech/html/preparing_speeches.html

How To Write a Business or Social Speech - http://www.howtodothings.com/business/how-to-write-a-business-or-social-speech

eHow - How to Write a Speech - http://www.ehow.com/how_3473_write-speech.html

Sign-up to Receive Consultation from Judy Carter - http://judycarter.com/consultations.php

Samples of One Sheets and How to Create a One Sheet

A "one sheet" is a powerful marketing tool for any public motivational speaker, check out these samples and instructions on how to make one!

Judy's one sheet - http://judycarter.com/pdf/one_sheet_planners.pdf

eHow - How to Create an Artist One Sheet (adaptable) - http://www.ehow.com/how_2321976_create-artist-one-sheet.html

How to Create an Artist One Sheet - http://www.macgraphics.net/ezineimages/June06Ezine.pdf

One Sheet Covers it ALL - http://ezinearticles.com/?One-Sheet-Covers-it-ALL&id=173965

eHow - Write a One Page Brochure - http://www.ehow.com/how_4443703_write-one-page-brochure.html

Links to Affordable Video and Audio Equipment

You don't need Hollywood connections or tons of money for video and audio equipment, check out these great deals!

cNet - Video Recorder Reviews - http://reviews.cnet.com/camcorders

Affordable Video Recorders

Canon Video Recorders

Sony Video Recorders

Panasonic Video Recorders

Professional Video Recorders

Professional Video Recorders (All Brands)

Flip Cam - Inexpensive Consumer Video Camera

Flip Cam - Video Recorders

Lavalier Microphone

Low-Cost, Highly Rated

Professional Grade

Presentation Tools

Powerpoint Remote Control to Control Slides

Netbooks (small laptops)

Ultrabooks (power of laptops, but light like netbooks)

Laptops

Recommended iPhone Apps

iPhone apps can make your life as a motivational speaker soooo much easier. Here are a few cool ones!

Google Voice (free app which transcribes your voice mail and emails it to you)

Open Table (where you can make your reservations)

Flight Status (to immediately tell you if your flight is late)

Perfect rhyme (use this on the plane ride for the customized songs to put in your speech, as it doesn't need a wife connection)

Layar (point your iPhone in a direction and it will tell you what you're looking at with info from Wikipedia, etc.)

Run Keeper (help you keep your exercise program going on the road)

Here are some websites to get the latest and greatest iPhone apps.

iPhone Application Search - http://iphoneapplicationlist.com/apps

Gizmodo App of the Day - http://gizmodo.com/tag/iphone-apps

Gizmodo Best Apps of the Week - http://gizmodo.com/tag/the-week-in-iPhone-apps

Sample Contracts for Public Speakers

Don't get ripped off or underpaid for your speaking, get it in writing. Here are some real samples of public speaking contracts.

How to Write Your Booking Contract - http://ezinearticles.com/?Professional-Speakers---How-to-Write-Your-Booking-Contract&id=1872263

Speaker Contract Sample - http://beaspeakers.pbworks.com/f/speaker+contract.pdf

Speaker Contract Sample - http://beaspeakers.pbworks.com/f/Speaking+Agreement+draft.pdf

Speaker Contract Sample Template - http://www.mynsa.org/TOOLS/SampleDocuments/SampleAgrementDocuments.aspx

Speaker Contract Sample - http://beaspeakers.pbworks.com/f/BH%26A+Contract-Sample.pdf

Speaker Contract Sample - http://beaspeakers.pbworks.com/f/contract2.pdf

Speaker Contract Sample - http://beaspeakers.pbworks.com/f/contract3.pdf

Speaker Contract Sample - http://beaspeakers.pbworks.com/f/contract4.pdf

CRM Solutions For Speakers

Keep track of your clients and gigs in the palm of your hand with a handy CRM.

Sugar CRM http://www.sugarcrm.com/crm

Salesforce - http://www.salesforce.com/crm/products.jsp

ZoHo - http://www.zoho.com/crm/index.html

Microsoft Dynamics CRM - http://crm.dynamics.com/en-us/Default.aspx

Prophet - http://www.avidian.com

Find expert to help you setup your CRM - http://www.guru.com

Sample of fee schedule

Judy's Fee Schedule http://www.judycarter.com/pdf/fee_schedule_web.pdf

Companies That Create Customized Merchandise

Turn yourself into a marketing machine with fun items with your logo and name on them. These companies (below) will create the product for you that your clients and potential clients will never forget!

CafePress - http://www.cafepress.com

Branders - http://www.branders.com

Promo Peddler - http://www.promopeddler.com

Think Alike - http://www.thinkingalike.com

ias promotes - http://www.iaspromotes.com

Gimmees - http://www.gimmees.com

Promotional Promos http://www.promotionalpromos.com

Surge Promo - http://www.surgepromo.com

Inkhead - http://www.inkhead.com

Promotional Product Deals - http://www.promotionalproductdeals.com